Review: Benefit They’re Real Push-up Liner

I got this sample from a BDJ Box subscription last November 2014. I usually veer away from gel liners because I have oily skin and I end up looking like a panda by noon. However, Benefit claims that this particular gel liner is smudge- and sweat-proof so I went ahead and tried it on.

First-off, this particular eyeliner’s packaging is quite unique. It’s the first ever gel liner pen which basically means the product is gel-type but the applicator is a pen!

Push-Up Liner Applicator
Push-Up Liner Applicator

The applicator itself is made of rubber so it flexes as you swipe it across your lid. In contrast to a brush, this rubber tip allows for more control and a cleaner application. The difficulty I had with this was getting the product to come out. I think with the full-sized product, you only had to twist the pen to dispense more product but with this sample, I had to squeeze the bottom of the rubber applicator.

Application
Application

This was my first attempt at using this product. Overall, it was tricky to dispense just the right amount of product. I ended up getting a thicker line than I usually get with my liquid liner. I guess this would be perfect if you want to achieve a more dramatic look but it’s not something I would do on a regular basis.

As to longevity, this product held it’s own! I did not experience any smudging and the line stayed true till the end of the day. It came off with my makeup remover for waterproof makeup but I don’t think plain ol’ water and soap would do the trick. Benefit even made a makeup remover specifically for this product!

In summation:

Pros:

  1. Gives a matte finish
  2. smudge- and sweat-proof
  3. hygienic since you don’t dip back and forth into a pot like normal gel liners

Cons:

  1. Dispensing just the right amount of product is tricky
  2. gel isn’t that pliable so getting that thin, controlled line is difficult
  3. expensive!
2 thoughts on “Review: Benefit They’re Real Push-up Liner

  1. Great blog. When this liner first came out, I was so excited. However this quickly became a disappointment. Even with a full size product I found dispensing the right amount was difficult and the inability to apply a thin line was also hard for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

